Research Appointments

  • May 2017/now - Postdoctoral Fellow
    Department of Physics
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge (MA), USA
    Advisor: Prof. Nuh Gedik


  • Oct 2012/Apr 2017 - PhD in Physics
    École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
Thesis Title: “Nonequilibrium Dynamics of Collective Excitations in Strongly Interacting and Correlated Quantum Systems”

    Advisors: Prof. Majed Chergui, Prof. Fabrizio Carbone
    Committee: Prof. Anthony J. Leggett, Prof. Thomas Elsaesser, Prof. Joël Mesot, Prof. Vincenzo Savona
  • Oct 2010/Sep 2012 - MSc in Electronic Engineering (Quantum Electronics Curriculum)
    University of Pavia, Italy

    Grade: 110/110 summa cum laude

    Thesis Title: “Optical Nonlinearities in Hydrogenated Amorphous Silicon Waveguides
    Advisor: Prof. Ilaria Cristiani
  • Oct 2007/Jul 2010 - BSc in Electronic Engineering

    University of Pavia, Italy
    Grade: 110/110 summa cum laude

    Thesis Title: “Measurement and Numerical Simulation of Optical Forces Produced by a Gaussian Beam in an Optical Trap
    Advisor: Prof. Ilaria Cristiani


Academic Honors

  • MDPI Materials 2021 Young Investigator Award (2021)
  • Materials Research Society (MRS) Postdoctoral Award (2020)
  • American Chemical Society (ACS) PHYS Young Investigator Award, "for the discovery and ultrafast manipulation of unconventional excitonic states in quantum materials," San Francisco, CA (2020)
  • MDPI Physics 2020 Young Investigator Award (2020)
  • American Physical Society (APS) "Carl E. Anderson" Division of Laser Science Award, "for implementing novel ultrafast optical spectroscopy techniques to identify and control collective excitations in quantum materials, leading to major contributions in the fields of excitonics and phononics," Washington, DC (2019)
  • IBM Award in Condensed Matter Physics, Zürich, Switzerland (2019)
  • Swiss National Science Foundation Postdoc Mobility Fellowship, Switzerland (2018) 
  • EPFL Doctorate Award 2018, "Special distinction to the 10 best PhD theses in all fields," EPFL (2018)
  • Springer Theses, “for outstanding PhD Research,” Springer Nature (2017)
  • EPFL Physics Doctoral School Award, "Special distinction to the 3 best PhD theses in Physics," EPFL (2017)
  • Dimitris N. Chorafas Foundation Award, “for outstanding work in selected fields in the 
engineering sciences, medicine and the natural sciences,” Weizmann Institute of Science (2017) 

  • Swiss National Science Foundation, Early Postdoc Mobility Fellowship, Switzerland (2016) 

  • Best Undergraduate Student Award, University of Pavia, Italy (2013) 

  • Gold Medal, European iGEM Competition, Amsterdam, Netherlands (2011) 

  • Merit Scholarship, University of Pavia, Italy (2007/2008 - 2011/2012)